- Appropriate license depending on activity (‘Broker’s’ license if you are transferring a pet to new owner in New Hampshire; ‘Shelter’ license if you have a licensed facility within New Hampshire, etc). It is best to contact the New Hampshire State Veterinarian for specifics prior to any consideration for quarantine.
- Health Certificate within 10 days of quarantine. This Health Certificate must be filled out by a licensed veterinarian. The pet must be found free of contagious disease prior to transport. Although a heartworm test is not required for quarantine, it may be required by the transport company. If a pet has been heartworm positive in the past, it must have a microfilaria test demonstrating that it is negative and does not have circulating microfilaria prior to quarantine. The health certificate should indicate that the pet is fit to travel and does not have the potential for contagious disease, is free from obvious disease and parasites and has a negative fecal.
- Adopter/Foster information should be provided for the new Health Certificate to be issued after quarantine.
- Licensed Transporter: The transporter for your rescued pet, must be licensed to transport into the state of New Hampshire.
- No medications can be transported with a pet. No medications can be transferred to a new owner with a pet. Pets on medications should not be transported without special permission from the State Veterinarian.
- Not too young: Pets must be 8 weeks or older.
- Current on Rabies: Rabies vaccination is required if the pet is 12 wks or older.
Pets cannot be released from quarantine unless free from contagious/infectious disease. A fecal is rechecked prior to issuing the new Health Certificate. If parasites are found, the pet cannot leave the quarantine facility until treatment is complete and a recheck fecal has been found to be. We can transfer care to another DVM.
Call to schedule.
109 Dover Road, Chichester, NH 03258